My Workout Plan

As high school soccer approaches, I am finally getting in shape for the season. I have found that the first step to motivation is to plan out exactly what you’re planning on doing every single day. Not just a plan for a week even if you plan to repeat those same workouts on those same days every week. Looking at a calendar that shows the length of how long you want to follow your workout plan allows you to see the number of days you have successfully completed. Also, a written plan is a more permanent one. When you think of what you plan to do, I find I often ignore the thought or act like I told myself to do less than what I actually did. It is much harder to lie to yourself when you have written proof and makes it seem as though it is more of an assignment than a choice.

Although I said that you should do a calendar that outlines the exact length of your workout plan, I chose to just show a week of what I plan to do. This is simply because I’m doing the same workout every week and I already have a full month calendar for my plan. This is mainly for soccer, but it shows anyone how they can format their plan.

Monday

6am: Run two miles

5pm: Juggle (a soccer ball) for twenty minutes, as many sit ups as I can for one minute, as many pushups as I can for one minute

Tuesday 

6am: Run two miles

11am: Weight lifting

5pm: Juggle (a soccer ball) for twenty minutes, as many sit ups as I can for one minute, as many pushups as I can for one minute

Wednesday 

6am: Run two miles

12pm: Agility- ten ladder variations, ten sprints thirty yard sprints

5pm: Juggle (a soccer ball) for twenty minutes, as many sit ups as I can for one minute, as many pushups as I can for one minute

Thursday 

6am: Run two miles

11am: Weight lifting

5pm: Juggle (a soccer ball) for twenty minutes, as many sit ups as I can for one minute, as many pushups as I can for one minute

Friday 

6am: Run two miles

12pm: Agility- ten ladder variations, ten sprints thirty yard sprints

5pm: Juggle (a soccer ball) for twenty minutes, as many sit ups as I can for one minute, as many pushups as I can for one minute

Saturday 

6am: Run two miles

5pm: Juggle (a soccer ball) for twenty minutes, as many sit ups as I can for one minute, as many pushups as I can for one minute

Sunday

6am: Run two miles

12pm: Agility- ten ladder variations, ten sprints thirty yard sprints

5pm: Juggle (a soccer ball) for twenty minutes, as many sit ups as I can for one minute, as many pushups as I can for one minute

I would recommend for running that you run your route extremely slowly the first time so that you have a sense for the distance you will be running each day. I did this and it helped a lot with my confidence of knowing that I can run the two miles in general. Although I ran a lot slower than I want to be by the end of July, I now know that I have somewhere to work from and the task is probable. You could run so slowly that it would be the same exertion of energy if you walked, but it still lets you know that running the two miles is in your realm of ability, before focusing on time.

Don’t be too hard on yourself. Whenever I try a new workout and I’m really bad at it, I try and look forward to my transformation. Say you run an eleven minute mile, but you want to run a seven minute mile. Don’t be disappointed. Think about how impressive it will be when you hit a seven minute mile and you are able to know that you dropped four whole minutes. A bad first workout just leaves you with a bigger transformation story.

There will be other team workouts that will be worked in to my schedule so it is up for some slight variations of time. Keep in mind that although I am working out a lot, I will be very slow at the beginning. I don’t have high expectations for myself right now. I am a very slow runner with no upper body strength. However, anyone can workout a lot and have a lot of tasks to complete, it is simply the pace at which you do them. I don’t plan on adding to my workout, simply just improving at my times and ability to do pushups, sit-ups, and juggle.

In addition to working out, I will be cutting off added sugar. I’m so nervous, because I honestly average a pint of ice cream a day. It’s such a struggle to go an hour without sugar. I love sugar. Today, my first day of this new diet, I got black coffee at  Starbucks. I used to drink black coffee more regularly, but after I tried an ice caramel macchiato, I haven’t gone back.

Wish me luck on this new adventure and I hope I helped someone else who is looking for some help with self improvement 🙂

Leave a Reply

